$1 grocery store finds

So, I have this rule, if there’s meat on sale for $1 a pound, I buy 10 lbs. Usually it’s chicken. Sometimes it’s pork. This week, if was pork ribs, usually running $1.78 a lb. So needless to say I was excited, I’ve never cooked them before, and wondered….hmmm…what can’t the crockpot do? So I got home and got busy. I ended up deciding to make BBQ ribs.

Do you know how easy it is to make your own BBQ sauce? So, in a pan I dumped 1/2 c of apple cider vinegar, 1c or ketchup, and 1c of water. Then I added Worcestershire sauce, some garlic, some salt and pepper, a dash of celery salt, a dash of cumin, and a dash of cayenne. I just put enough of stuff in to make it taste yummy….oh yeah, and 1/4 of an onion diced. I’m not one for going by recipes, so, I honestly have no idea how much of what I put in, except the first three for a basis of flavor. Then all I had to do, was put 2.5 lbs of the ribs in the crock pot, dump the BBQ sauce over it, and set it to cook on low for 8 hours. OMG SOOO GOOD!! I ended up making green beans with sausage (woulda been bacon, but Jason took the last bit and I didn’t know), and cheesey garlic rolls. I’m gonna have to say, I absolutely LOVE experimenting, and I’m sure one day it’ll bite me in the butt, but until then, boy am I having fun, and my family sure is happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

