Mmmmm Carrot Cake Muffins

Ok, I first made these for Jason on his birthday because he loves carrot cake. He ate one before I put the frosting on, and said to just keep them that way. I’ve been making this recipe every so often, and it’s pretty awesome to have something tasty and pretty good for you when you’re in a hurry out the door.

Carrot Cupcakes
2c Flour
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1c sugar
1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
3 eggs
1 soft banana
1 c oil (canola or other)
2 c grated carrots
1 c grated apple

Optional:
1/2 c walnuts
1 c raisins

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix wet and dry separately. (I mash up the banana and mix it with the oil and eggs for better incorporation), then fold in grated carrot and apple, along with any extras you like.
Bake for 20 min, or until a toothpick comes out clean form the muffin.

The original recipe called for 4 eggs and no banana….I used the banana as a substitute for the egg cause I only had three eggs 🙂 I haven’t bothered to make it any other way because it tastes soo yummy. I always add the walnuts, myself, just too tasty not to.

Oh, and a hint for grating the apple….if you have an electric grater or something like it, the faster you grate it, the less apple juice you end up with and more grated apple you get. (I have a slicer/shredder on my kitchenade <3)
SAM_2656

Leave a Reply

