Change in Perspective

Once you learn something, you can’t undo that. You can put your head in the sand, you can pretend it’s not there, but it never does go away. Not until you embrace the change that it means in your life can you truly be free.

This statement has held true for me for a great many things. Any time I ignored the new thing, it caused havoc with my psyche. The only release was acceptance and greater knowledge.

For awhile I have been trying to feed my family on as little money as possible. Shoot, I was quite proud that I was feeding a family of 4 (2 boys that eat like grown men) for less than $35 a week. After a bit, I realized we were getting sick more often, and really, why am I able to get all this food for little or no cost? There’s something wrong about this picture.

I started researching food we had been eating. I wanted to know THE best way to nourish my children so that they can become strong, intelligent, productive people. I wanted to nourish myself and my husband so we can be the best we can be. In the past I have watched Food, Inc. and other documentaries about food. I always thought they were interesting, but never really thought they applied to me. I mean, I NEVER went to McDonald’s, we ate occasionally at Burger King and Taco Bell, everything in moderation, right? Well, this is true….when you’re eating REAL food.

This was around the time I learned about the Weston A. Price Foundation. This is where I learned about different types of fats and nutrients that we think are healthy, but frankly, just plain aren’t. I learned how important fermented foods are in our lives. (Think probiotics) Things that humans have lived on for thousands of years that we no longer live off of because of mass production of cheap processed food.

It’s interesting when you start to read labels on foods. Seriously, when was the last time you actually READ a label. Not just the “nutrition” information, but the actual ingredients? Just something as simple as looking at milk. Say you’re at the store and you buy 1% milk. Look at the label. Why in the world would they need to add milk powder back into milk? It’s just milk, right? But then, how do they make powdered milk? It’s not like simply putting it in a dehydrator would work. When you start to learn how food is processed (made), it starts to sound really really disgusting.

You are what you eat. Go look in your cabinet. Really read about what’s in there, and tell me, are you all natural, clean, and healthy? Or are you chemically laden, unnatural, and processed? I know what I’m going to choose, and the recipes that I post after this will follow in line with that objective. Hope to have you along for the ride. 🙂

Leave a Reply

